Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The PFWA’s Dick McCann Award is given to a reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage. The award is named for McCann, who was the first director of the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1962-67).

The McCann Award is presented yearly during the Enshrinees’ Gold Jacket Dinner at the Memorial Civic Center and Cultural Center in Canton, Ohio, on Friday night of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival weekend.

Notable Winners

2008 – Len Pasquarelli (
2009 – Peter King (Sports Illustrated)
2010 – Peter Finney (New Orleans Times-Picayune)
2011 – Bob McGinn (Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel)
2012 – Tom Kowalski (
2013 – Dan Pompei (Chicago Tribune)
2014 – Ed Bouchette (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette)


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

Contact Information

Join the AMI Mailing List