Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline March 5, 2014
Decision Date May 3, 2014
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The White House Correspondents' Association is pleased to announce competition for the
Edgar A. Poe Award for 2014. The award honors excellence in news coverage of subjects and events of significant national or regional importance to the American people.

Tips for Winning:

In selecting a recipient, the judges will be looking for excellence in stories with fairness and objectivity. Exemplary personal qualities may also be considered. In addition, the judges may cite other meritorious entries.

Notable Winners

The 2013 winners are:

Jim Morris, Chris Hamby, Ronnie Greene
The Center for Public Integrity


2013 JUDGES:

Barbara Cochran
Curtis B. Hurley Chair in Public Affairs Journalism
University of Missouri School of Journalism
Washington, DC

Lee Thornton
Phillip Merrill School of Journalism
University of Maryland
College Park, MD

Steve Crane
Cronkite News Service
Arizona State University
Washington, DC Bureau

Josh Meyer
Medill National Security Journalism Initiative
Northwestern University
Washington, DC

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

• Must have been published in the year 2013

• Must be news of national and regional significance

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

* Material must have been published in the calendar year ending December 31, 2013.
Entrants may submit a sample of their work up to three stories or scripts. Online entries must be original Web content. Everything must be in triplicate.

* Entries may be submitted with clippings, original material, photocopies, Web site printouts or broadcast scripts. Broadcast tapes (DVD) may be submitted with the scripts.

* Entrants must provide the date of publication or broadcast and a supervisor’s confirmation that the nominee wrote the story or script.

Entry Format

* Entries are to be submitted to the Edgar A. Poe Award, White House Correspondents’ Association, 600 New Hampshire Ave. NW, #800, Washington, DC 20037.

* Please place the name of the award on the entry envelope.

* Entries will not be returned. They become the property of the WHCA.

Contact Information

White House Correspondents' Associationâ„ 
600 New Hampshire Avenue, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20037
202-266-7453 (phone)
202-266-7454 (fax)

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List