Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline October 15, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress was created in 1980 in honor of the late Republican Senator from Illinois, shown right. The award is intended to recognize individuals whose work shows thoughtful appraisal and insight into the workings of the U.S. Congress. The winning journalist or team of journalists receives a $5,000 prize. An honorable mention will also be awarded. Entries are welcome from print, broadcast and online journalists. The award is presented at the annual Awards Dinner.

Tips for Winning:

Entries will be judged on how well they covered the workings of the Congress as a whole, or helped illuminate the actions of elected officials or congressional staff, or described the workings of congressional policies.

Notable Winners


Bryan Bender, The Boston Globe

Tracy Jan, The Boston Globe

Noah Bierman


Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

The work must have been published or broadcast in Sept.1, 2013 - Sept.1, 2014.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

A short biography and letter of support should be saved as either a Word, text or PDF document BEFORE beginning the online application form. No JPGs. You may not save and return to the application later. If these items are not uploaded to the online application, it will be considered ineligible for review.

Entry Format

Entry Process is through an online form.

Contact Information

Jessica Jean-Francois [email protected] 202.663.7282

Join the AMI Mailing List