Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline November 7, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Competition is now closed for the John Jay College of Criminal Justice/Harry Frank Guggenheim prizes for the best reporting on crime and justice published in U.S. newspapers, magazines or online. The annual $1,000 awards, sponsored by the nation's pre-eminent academic institution on criminal justice, honor investigation, features, and criminal justice issues. The award will be presented in conjunction with the Harry F. Guggenheim Annual Symposium on Crime in America in February, 2015. The Award for Excellence in Criminal Justice Reporting is administered by the Center on Media, Crime at John Jay, and judged by a panel of leading journalists and educators.

The Center on Media, Crime and Justice (CMJC) promotes quality reporting on criminal justice, and brings journalists together with scholars and practitioners to help broaden public understanding of the trends, problems and issues relating to crime and justice in 21st century society. CMCJ also runs, the nation's only criminal justice news service.

An international leader in educating for justice, John Jay College of Criminal Justice of The City University of New York approaches justice as an applied art and science in service to society and as an ongoing conversation about fundamental human desires for fairness, equality and the rule of law.

The H. F. Guggenheim Foundation sponsors scholarly research on problems of violence, aggression, and dominance. The foundation provides both research grants to established scholars and dissertation fellowships to graduate students during the dissertation-writing year. For more information visit

Notable Winners


David McSwane of the Herald-Tribune

Megan O’Matz and John Maines of the South Florida Sun-Sentinel



Cindy Chang and the investigative team of The Times-Picayune

Shane Bauer of Mother Jonesmagazine



Gina Barton of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Trevor Aaronson of Mother Jones magazine


Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

Must be a single story or series published in a newspaper, magazine or online news outlet. Work must be published in the U.S. between November 1, 2013 and October 31, 2014.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

The application period is currently closed.

Winners will be announced in January 2015.

Contact Information

Richard Martinez

Prize Administrator

[email protected]



Cara Tabachnick

Deputy Director

[email protected]



Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List