Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Each year, the American News Women’s Club honors an outstanding journalist with its Excellence in Journalism Award. The festive event, held at the National Press Club, raises money for the Club’s scholarships given to journalism students.

Notable Winners

Gwen Ifill (2014)
Barbara Walters (2013)
Candy Crowley (2012)
Diane Rehm (2011)
Eleanor Clift (2010)
Katie Couric (2009)
Brian Lamb (2006)
Ben Bradlee & Sally Quinn (2005)
Bob Schieffer (2004)
Cokie Roberts (2003)
Judy Woodruff (2002)
Al Neuharth (2001)
Jim Lehrer (2000)
Larry King (1999)
Andrea Mitchell (1998)
Walter Cronkite (1997)
Sam Donaldson (1996)
Sarah McClendon (1995)
Catherine Filene Shouse (1994)
Helen Thomas (1993)


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

Contact Information

1607 22nd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20008
Phone: (202) 332-6770
Fax: (202) 265-6092
E-mail: [email protected]

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List