Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Established in 1989, the John R. Finnegan Freedom of Information award is given to those individuals and groups who demonstrate through expression and action commitment to the idea that a popular and democratic government can never realize the aspirations of the founding fathers without the participation of an informed electorate. An informed electorate cannot exist without access to information.

Notable Winners

• Marshall Helmberger, editor and publisher of the Timberjay Newspaper
• Robert Shaw and Rogers Adams (Minnesota Government Data Practices Act)


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

This award is only presented to residence of Minnesota and Minnesota Institutes

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Nomination form

Entry Format

Typically a call nominations goes out in January of each year and a form to nominate candidates is put up on the website. The award is presented in March.

Contact Information

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List