Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline January 15, 2016
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Realizing that there was no equivalent for the Pulitzer Prize in radio, the National Association of Broadcasters formed a committee to establish a prestigious award for excellence in broadcasting. The manager of WSB Radio in Atlanta Lambdin Kay asked John Drewry, the dean of Grady School of Journalism, to sponsor the award. They named the award for George Foster Peabody, a highly successful investment banker and recently deceased benefactor to the University of Georgia.

Since 1940 the Peabody award has steadily grown from being the “Pulitzer Prize for Radio” to recognizing excellence in a wide range of electronic media. In 1948 the Peabody Awards began recognizing television programs, and eventually cable TV was included beginning in 1981. By 2003, the first website had been included in the list of winners and 2012 saw the first Peabody Award given to a blog. From the first radio broadcast, electronic media has been constantly evolving. As the possibilities for storytelling multiply, the Peabody Awards will continue to draw attention to stories that matter in electronic media. We look toward the new forms of storytelling that will arise as we move deeper into the digital age.

"Every year, over a thousand submissions—including TV shows, radio programs, and various types of web content—are reviewed first by 90 faculty, staff, and students judges at the University of Georgia. Their committees make recommendations to the Peabody Board who are responsible for selecting the final winners.

The Peabody Board is made up of a collection of scholars, media professionals, and journalists. This mix of top-level media professionals from a variety of backgrounds helps to ensure that winners appeal to a wide variety of viewers, rather than exclusively to media insiders. For a program to win, all 16 board member have to unanimously vote in favor of it receiving a Peabody."

Notable Winners


Board of Judges:

• Tom Mattia (Chair)
Retired Senior Vice President and Chief Communications Officer for the Coca-Cola Company

• John Huey
Former Editor-in-Chief of TIME, Inc.

• Fred Young
Former Senior VP of News at Hearst Television

• Dr. Elizabeth Guider
Former Editor of The Hollywood Reporter

• Eric Deggans
TV Critic for NPR, Guest Host for CNN's Reliable Sources

• Dr. Henry Jenkins
Prof. of Comm., Journalism, Cinematic Arts, and Education at USC

• Maureen Ryan
TV Critic for the Huffington Post

• Marquita Pool-Eckert
Former Senior Producer of CBS News Sunday Morning

• Doreen Ringer Ross
VP of Film and TV Relations for BMI

• Eddie Garrett
Executive Vice President and Deputy General Manager of the Edelman Company

• Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Journalist who has worked for the New York Times, NPR, CNN and PBS, author, and 3-time Peabody Winner

• Bird Running water
Director of the Sundance Institute’s Program for Native American Screenwriters, Directors and Producers

• Steve Bryant
Senior Curator of Television for the British Film Institute

• Allen Sabinson
Dean of College of Media Arts and Design at Drexel University, former executive at Miramax, A&E, Showtime and NBC

• Dr. Barbie Zelizer
Prof. of Comm. at the University of Pennsylvania, former President of the International Communication Assoc.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Step 1: Fill in Entry Form Pages 1 and 2.

A red asterisk ( * ) marks required fields. Watch for specific instructions for some fields. You will move through the form by clicking on the Entry Form Page 1 and Entry Form Page 2 buttons. You may review these instructions on any page by clicking the View Procedural Information button. You may use the Review Entry button to view your partial submission, if you wish. NOTE: Partially completed forms can not be saved and retrieved for later use. The forms must be filled in completely before they are submitted.

Step 2: Review Your Data.

Check your data before final submission by clicking on the Review Entry button. If you see anything you want to change, use the Page 1 or Page 2 button to go back and correct the information. Then click the Review Entry button again.

Step 3: Submit Your Entry.

From the Review Entry page, click on Submit Final Entry to finalize your submission. NOTE: You cannot make any changes once you have submitted your entry.

Step 4: Complete the Paperwork.

Print the Submission Confirmation page by selecting File from the menu bar; selecting the Print option; and clicking the OK button to print to your default printer. We recommend printing two copies: one copy for your files and one copy to be submitted with your physical materials. We are now accepting online payment by credit card -- you will be able to submit payment online from the Submission Confirmation Page, or at

See more key formatting information here:

Entry Format

Sign and date the Exhibition Release at the end of the Submission Confirmation page.
Prepare your storage device and files according to the specifications below. Files not following these guidelines WILL NOT be considered.
Send all materials (Submission Confirmation printout and entry materials) to the following address:
George Foster Peabody Awards
University of Georgia
Grady College of Journalism & Mass Communication
120 Hooper Street
Athens, GA 30602-3018 USA

Note: Hard Drives and USB Flash Drives (both archival and review copies) will NOT be returned to sender, but deposited in the Peabody Awards Collection Archives. If you need assistance with this process, please refer to the FAQ section of our website. If your answers are not available on the website, questions may be emailed to [email protected]

Contact Information

Join the AMI Mailing List