Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline January 6, 2015
Decision Date February 1, 2016
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The George Polk Awards are conferred annually to honor special achievement in journalism. They were established by Long Island University in 1949 to commemorate Polk, a CBS correspondent murdered the year before while covering the Greek civil war.

Tips for Winning:

Judges place a premium on investigative and enterprise work that is original, requires digging and resourcefulness, and brings results.

Additionally, the criteria for awards include discernment of a significant news story, resourcefulness and courage in reporting, skill in relating the story and the impact of the coverage.

Notable Winners

Edward R. Murrow, Christiane Amanpour, Carl Bernstein, David Halberstam, Gay Talese, Fred Friendly, I.F. Stone, Morley Safer, Joseph Lelyveld, Anthony Lukas and Walter Cronkite


Altman, Lawrence Hershey, Edward Rauch, Jennifer
Bensky, Larry Hollie, Len Rich, Frank
Bergman, Lowell Jones, Alex Roberts, Gene
Bernstein, Carl Kenigsberg, Abby Rosenthal, Robert
Bird, Donald Lee, Jennifer 8. Salopek, Paul
Chivers, C.J. Levyveld, Joseph Schultz, Ellen
Engelberg, Stephen Lewis, Charles Schwartz, Rhonda
Engelman, Ralph Llorente, Elizabeth Seesel, Adam
Frillman, Karen Marshall, John Shepard, Stephen B.
Gonzalez, Juan Mayer, Jane Shipp, E.R.
Gottlieb, Martin McCray, Melvin Stephen, Curtis
Herbert, Bob Medina, David Suarez, Ray
Hersch, Seymour Osnos, Peter Thompson, A.C.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

• Newspapers
• Magazines
• Television
• Radio
• Online News organizations

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

It is recommended that each entry include a cover letter.
• Print - submit two original clips (or clear photocopies) of news or feature stories.
• Photojournalism - submit two original clips.
• Radio - submit two audio recordings of segment/s along with script/s.
• Television - submit two video or digital recordings along with script/s.
• Web - submit two copies of printed text as well as URLs (DVDs may be included).

Journalists do not have to be United States citizens and the media outlet does not have to be American, but all entries must be in English (no translations) and have appeared in the U.S

Entry Format

Send entries to:
The George Polk Awards
Attn: Ralph Engelman
Journalism Department
LIU Brooklyn
1 University Plaza
Brooklyn, NY 11201-5372

Contact Information

The George Polk Awards
Attn: Ralph Engelman
Long Island University
Brooklyn Campus
1 University Plaza
Brooklyn, NY 11201-5372
Phone: 718-488-1009
E-mail: [email protected]

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List