Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Many editors outside the United States risk their lives just going to work each day because they play a huge part in promoting freedom of speech and justice in their countries. presents the award each year to an editor or editors outside the United States in recognition of enterprise, courage, and leadership in advancing the freedom and responsibility of the press, in enhancing human rights, and in fostering excellence and truth in journalism.

The history of the award is rich, and the past 35 recipients of the award have experiences that are incredible in their own right.

Notable Winners

Shukria Barakzai, editor of Aina-E-Zan, Kabul.

Hu Shuli, editor of Caijing, Beijing.

Iden Wetherell, The Zimbabwe Independent, Harare.

Perica Vucinic, Reporter, Belgrade and Banja Luka.


The recipient of's Editor of the Year award is selected by our editors in consultation with our correspondents, translators, contributing editors and others, both here in the United States and internationally.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Must be an editor outside of the United States

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

No application process

Entry Format

No application process

Contact Information

Teri Schure
[email protected]

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List