Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Jesse H. Neal Awards are the most prestigious editorial honors in the field of specialized journalism. Named after Jesse H. Neal, the first managing director of ABM, the Neal Awards were established in 1955 to recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. Past Neal winners and finalists have tackled some of the major issues of their time. In doing so, they have exposed corruption, conflicts of interest and other malfeasance, or brought attention to major new trends, brilliant leadership, innovative tactics and other developments in businesses and industries.

PLEASE NOTE: Most award categories are based on gross revenue classifications (combined print and online) to ensure resource parity.

Notable Winners


Randall-Reilly Publishing Company's OverdriveĀ 

"CSA's Data Trail"



A Shocking Truth

IEEE Spectrum

ABM Member Company: IEEE Media


Judging for the Neal Awards is organized in three tiers. The first-stage Screening Board is composed of more than 100 experienced business media editors. The highest-scoring entries are passed to the Stage II Screening Panel, which is made up of past and present members of the American Business Media Editorial Committee. The Stage II Screening Panel submits the top three entries per category for final judging. The Board of Judges, eight to 10 professionals knowledgeable in all aspects of business journalism, makes the final decisions. The award winner in each category/classification is chosen from three finalists, all of whom will be recognized for their Finalist status. The Grand Neal Award, the pinnacle of business-toļ¾­business editorial achievement, is chosen from among the Neal winners in all 18 categories.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

The Neal Awards competition is open only to editorial staff of American Business Media member companies.
Awards are given to editors, not to publications. Entries are scored on three criteria: service to the industry, editorial craftsmanship, and journalistic enterprise and innovation. Additionally, digital entries will be judged for ease of navigation; utility and freshness of content; appearance; services (e.g., archive search); and innovative offerings (e.g., multimedia, interactive features, etc.).

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

Contact Information

Petrina Hicks
[email protected]

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List