Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline January 31, 2015
Decision Date May 15, 2015
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

John Bartlow Martin advanced the tenets of public interest journalism. His magazine stories about labor racketeering, poor working conditions, racism, crime and abuse of mental patients were marked by careful reporting, incisive writing and a palpable concern for victims. In many cases, these stories, published in major magazines such as Harperā€™s, The Saturday Evening Post, Life, Look, Collier's and The Atlantic,Ā prompted public policy changes and inspired other journalists to make a difference with their own reporting. In hisĀ 10 years atĀ Medill,Ā Martin helpedĀ students becomeĀ skilled reporters and writers. Medill established the John Bartlow Martin Award for Public Interest Magazine Journalism in 1988 to encourage outstanding professional work in this crucial area.

Notable Winners

Alexandra Robbins's piece, "Children are Dying," published in the Washingtonian, is the 2014 winner.

1st: Peter Landesman, LA Weekly
2nd: Joshua Kors, The Nation
3rd: Jesse Katz, Los Angeles Magazine

1st: Julia Whitty, Dick Russell, Marla Cone, Michael W. Robbins, Jonathan Stein, H. Bruce Franklin and Daniel Duane, Mother Jones
2nd: Charles Bowden, Mother Jones
3rd: Brian Alexander, Glamour

1st: Mimi Swartz, Texas Monthly
2nd: Elizabeth Kolbert, The New Yorker
3rd: Alan Prendergast, Westword

1st: Dan Baum, The New Yorker
2nd: Katherine Boo, The New Yorker
3rd: Maximillian Potter, 5280

1st: Wil S. Hylton, Harper's
2nd: Julie Jargon, Westword
3rd: Katherine Boo, The New Yorker

1st: Staff, Miami New Times
2nd: John Cook, Chicago Magazine
3rd: Michael Hall, Texas Monthly


Monetary/Material Award Details

A cash prize of $4,000 is awarded annually for the entry deemed most outstanding by the panel of judges.

Eligibility Requirements

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

Single stories or series work should shed light on the causes, consequences and remedies of problems in American society. The work should analyze and critique the policies, relationships and events behind these problems and solutions. Originality, excellence of writing and the impact of the article(s) also will be considered.

Submissions must have been published during the calendar year 2014.Ā  Medill welcomes articles published in print or digital consumer magazines. Newsletters are excluded, but circulation size is not a criterion of the award. Entries may be submitted by either authors or publications. The award will go to the author(s). If submitting hard copies, two copies of each entry must be submitted. Do not cut out stories or jumps; send full pages. Do not mount stories. Each copy must be accompanied by our entry form. Legible photocopies or scans are acceptable. You may attach documentation of specific results. Please type or print. Send entries to:

John Bartlow Martin Award

c/o Robyn Schuster

Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications

Northwestern University

1845 Sheridan Rd.

Evanston, IL 60208

Or they may be e-mailed to Robyn Schuster at [email protected]

All entries become the property of the Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications and will not be returned. The administrator of this award reserves the right to authenticate, accept or disallow entries.

Contact Information

Robyn Schuster:

[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List