Accepts entries starting August 4, 2015
Entry Deadline December 11, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The deadline for submissions was Wednesday, December 10, 2014. We are no longer accepting submissions for the 2015 Lukas Prizes. 

The J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize is given annually to a book-length work of narrative nonfiction on a topic of American political or social concern that exemplifies the literary grace, commitment to serious research, and social concern that characterized the distinguished work of the award’s namesake. 

Notable Winners

2013: Andrew Solomon - Far From The Tree

2012: Daniel J. Sharfstein - The Invisible Line: Three American Families and the Secret Journey from Black to White


2013 Jurors:

• William Strachan
• Tim Weiner
• Ben Yagoda

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

Must have published a book on the afor mentioned topic

Books must have been published between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014.

Anyone, including the author, may submit an application

Entry Fee Details

A $75 entry fee is required to nominate a book for the prize; check should be made payable to Columbia University and paid by January 30, 2015 or the entry will be disqualified. Fees for multiple entries should be paid with one check.

Required Material

Four Copies of each book entered

Entry Format

Submissions must include four (4) copies of each book entered.
A $75 entry fee paid by check is required for each book and payment must be received by submission deadline. Please see below for check requirements.
If entry payment is not received by January 30, 2014, the entry will be disqualified.
If you are submitting multiple entries for this prize, you may list them below.
If you are submitting a book for more than one prize, you must submit each with its own specific application.
When submitting your entry, please note the confirmation number we provide on your check.

Please submit your materials to:

Lukas Prize Project
c/o Lisa Redd, Associate Director of Professional Prizes
Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
2950 Broadway, Room 303
New York, NY 10027

Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway, Room 303
New York, NY 10027

Contact Information

Caroline Martinet, Program Manager, Professional Prizes
Columbia University Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List