Accepts entries starting August 4, 2015
Entry Deadline December 11, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The deadline for submissions was Wednesday, December 10, 2014. We are no longer accepting submissions for the 2015 Lukas Prizes. 

Established in 1998, the J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards recognize excellence in nonfiction that exemplifies the literary grace and commitment to serious research and social concern that characterized the work of the awards’ Pulitzer Prize-winning namesake, J. Anthony Lukas, who died in 1997. One of the three Lukas Prize Project Awards, the Mark Lynton History Prize, is named for the late Mark Lynton, a business executive and author of “Accidental Journey: A Cambridge Internee’s Memoir of World War II.” Lynton was an avid proponent of the writing of history, and the Lynton family has sponsored the Lukas Prize Project since its inception.

Tips for Winning:

The judges will make their decision on the basis of trying to achieve maximum impact on a promising book project.

Therefore, their selection criteria will represent a blend of the merit of the book and the financial need of the author. For this reason, the judges will need to know the amount of the author’s advance, as well as any other financial support for the book, such as a grant.

Notable Winners

2014: Adrienne Berard 

2013: Beth Macy - Factory Man: How One Furniture Maker Battled Offshoring, Stayed Local - and Helped Save an American Town

2012: Jonathan M. Katz - The Big Truck That Went By: How the World Came to Save Haiti and Left Behind a Disaster


2013 Jurors:
• Gene Foreman
• Bob Giles
• Shaye Areheart

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

Must have a contract with a publisher to write a book in the afor mentioned category

Entry Fee Details

  • No entry fee is required for this prize.

Required Material

Anyone, including the author, may submit a work in progress.
Applicants for this award must already have a contract with a publisher to write a nonfiction book.

Submissions must include:
One (1) printed copy of this entry form
One (1) proof of contract that includes the signature page or signed letter of intent by publisher
Four (4) sets of the submission materials that must include:
• a sample chapter
• a statement on how the award will advance the progress of the book
• a copy of the original book proposal

Entry Format

Please organize your four sets of materials by folders or envelopes and send to:

Lukas Prize Project
c/o Lisa Redd, Associate Director of Professional Prizes
Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
2950 Broadway, Room 303
New York, NY 10027

Contact Information

Caroline Martinet, Program Manager, Professional Prizes
Columbia University Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List