Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline March 16, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston founded the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes as a memorial to his wife, in 1938. The awards, the oldest international prizes in journalism, are awarded each fall to journalists in the Western hemisphere who, through their sustained and distinguished body of work, have contributed to Inter-American understanding. Occasionally the award is given to an organization that has made a similar contribution.

Notable Winners

Teodoro Petkoff
Editor, Tal Cual, Caracas, Venezuela

David Luhnow
Bureau Chief, The Wall Street Journal, USA

Juan Forero
South America Correspondent, Washington Post, National Public Radio/USA

Miguel Angel Bastenier
Columnist-editor, El Pais, Madrid Spain, and professor, Fundación Nuevo Periodismo Iberoamericano, Cartagena, Colombia

Arizona Daily Star

El Diario de Juárez


Carlos Dada
Founder and director, El Faro, El Salvador

Jean-Michel Leprince
Journalist, Radio-Canada, Canada


• Jose de Cordoba: Senior special writer for The Wall Street Journal
• Carlos Dada: Salvadoran journalist, founder a and director of El Faro
• June Carolyn Erlick: Editor-in-Chief of ReVista the Harvard Review of Latin America at the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies
• Juan Enriquez Cabot: Authority on economic and political impacts of life sciences. Best selling author
• John Dinges: The Godfrey Lowell Cabot Professor of Journalism at Columbia University is an author and journalists specializing in Latin America. Cabot Prize winner 1992
• Gustavo Gorritti: Peruvian journalist, the founder of lDL Reporters, a non-profit, investigative journalism site
• Carlos Lauría: Originally from Argentina, Lauría settled in New York in 1994 as U.S. bureau chief correspondent for Editorial Perfil, Argentina’s largest magazine publisher
• Julia Preston: A national correspondent for The New York Times. Preston covered and lived in the Americas for many years
• María Teresa Ronderos: Serves as Director of, an online media publication focused on Colombia's armed conflict. Ronderos is an editorial advisor to Semana, the main news magazine in her country
• Paulo Sotero: He currently serves as director of the Brazil Institute of the Woodrow Wilson Center in Washington, D.C.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Award Metal & $5,000 honorarium

Eligibility Requirements

Any journalist and/or news executive who works for any news organization based in the Western Hemisphere or any press association, news service or syndicate that serves such an organization; other individuals, including freelance journalists, with a long record of reporting on the region; all media, including Internet publications.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

As indicated below, please upload each of the following items and mail TWO CDs or DVDs for multimedia presentations.

• Nominee’s biography and/or CV listing education, journalistic experience and public service, with dates.
• A statement describing how the nominee has contributed towards international understanding in the Western Hemisphere.
• At least five but no more than ten (without prior authorization) newspaper or magazine articles, television or radio programs or Internet stories that are representative of the nominee’s work.
• TWO copies of each book submitted for consideration, if applicable.
• TWO copies of each CD or DVD for multimedia presentations.

Entry Format

Entry is online.

ALL materials should be formatted and uploaded as PDFs. Supporting multimedia presentations can be sent on CD or DVD.

Contact Information

Lisa S. Redd, Associate Director, Cabot Prizes
Columbia University Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List