Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline March 5, 2014
Decision Date May 3, 2014
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Merriman Smith Memorial fund is pleased to announce competition for awards in presidential news coverage.

The awards will be presented at the White House Correspondents' Associationâ„  annual dinner, to be held at the Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington, DC, on Saturday, May 3, 2014.

The fund was organized in 1970 in memory of the late Merriman Smith of United Press International, a White House correspondent for more than 30 years. The award was conceived to perpetuate Mr. Smith’s memory and to promote the excellence he brought to his profession.

Tips for Winning:

Four factors will be assessed in the judging of a story: accuracy, speed, objectivity, and initiative.

Notable Winners

2013 Winners:

• Terry Moran, ABC News
• Julie Pace, The Associated Press



Ellen Shearer
Medill News Service
Northwestern University
Washington, DC

Frank Sesno
Director, School of Media and Public Affairs
The George Washington University
Washington, DC

A’Lelia Bundles
Foundation for the National Archives
Washington, DC

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

• A single story written, dictated or broadcast under deadline pressure.

• The story must have emanated from coverage of the presidency, either in the United States or abroad. Any subject of news interest (political, diplomatic, scientific, economic, social, security, appointments, any foreign or domestic matter) which developed in the course of presidential news coverage, will be considered.

• A nominee must have been based in the Washington area and must have been on permanent or temporary assignment covering the presidency.

• Correspondents employed by any recognized news organization are eligible to enter.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

* Three (3) copies of the story to be considered must be submitted with the following information: dateline; date of publication or broadcast; time and date of filing, and time and date of deadline; and certification by the nominee’s supervisor that the nominee wrote, dictated or broadcast the story. A completed entry form must accompany each of the three copies of the story.

* Print entries may be in the form of clippings, original material, wire copy printouts, or photocopies. Entries will not be returned.

* Broadcast entries must be in the form of a script and audio/video (DVD). In the case of a live broadcast, an air check is required. DVD must also be in triplicate.

* Online entries, which may be submitted in either the broadcast or print category, must be in the form of Web page printouts and other original material.

* Only ONE entry should be filed by a nominee or in a nominee’s behalf.

* Each copy of an entry must be accompanied by a completed entry form.

Entry Format

* Entries are to be submitted to the Merriman Smith Memorial Award, White House Correspondents’ Association, 600 New Hampshire Ave. NW, #800, Washington, DC 20037

* Please place the name of the award on the entry envelope.

* Each copy of an entry must be accompanied by a completed entry form.

Contact Information

White House Correspondents' Associationâ„ 
600 New Hampshire Avenue, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20037
202-266-7453 (phone)
202-266-7454 (fax)

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List