Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline June 6, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date October 29, 2014
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Design of the Year competition, honoring visual excellence in the college press, is co-sponsored by Adobe Systems. First Place winners receive free Adobe software. Categories include: Newspaper Page One, Newspaper Page/Spread, Yearbook/Magazine Page/Spread, Infographic, Illustration and Magazine/Special Section Cover.

Notable Winners


Newspaper Page One:
First Place
Sarah Thacker
Indiana Daily Student, Indiana Univ., Bloomington, Ind.

Newspaper Page/Spread:
First Place
Kevin Golden
Indiana Daily Student, Indiana Univ., Bloomington, Ind.

Newsmagazine/Special Section Cover:
First Place
Abby Jones
Daily Sundial, California State Univ., Northridge, Northridge, Calif.

Yearbook/Magazine Page/Spread:
First Place
Danielle Austin, Erin Kelly, Kenneth Rosen
District Quarterly, Savannah College of Art and Design, Savannah, Ga.

First Place
Biz Carson
Indiana Daily Student, Indiana Univ., Bloomington, Ind.

First Place
Nathan Runda
The Communicator, Indiana-Purdue Univ., Fort Wayne, Ind.


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

The National Pacemaker Awards are open only to ACP member publications. Non-members who enter will be billed for membership.

To find out if your publication is a current member, check the ACP database:

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

More information to come

Entry Format

More information to come.

Fill out the entry form to be eligible for this award.

Contact Information

Trevor Ivan
Contest/Critique Coordinator
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List