Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline June 6, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date October 29, 2014
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Since 1927, ACP's Pacemaker competition has been considered by many to be student journalism's highest honor. All ACP magazine members are eligible to compete for a Pacemaker, but must submit an entry.

Notable Winners


The Daily Bruin, Univ. of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, Calif.
Carly Cody, editor
Amy Emmert, adviser

Literary (Four-year):
Tusk, California State Univ., Fullerton, Fullerton, Calif.
Bahar Sharareh, editor
Jeffrey Brody, adviser

Literary (Two-year)
American River Review, American River College, Sacramento, Calif.
Claire Davis, Rachel Gardner, editors
Michael Spurgeon, adviser


Magazines will be judged by professional non-ACP staff persons knowledgeable about magazine production.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

The National Pacemaker Awards are open only to ACP member publications. Non-members who enter will be billed for membership.

To find out if your publication is a current member, check the ACP database:

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

More information to come

Entry Format

More information to come.

Fill out the entry form to be eligible for this award.

Contact Information

Trevor Ivan
Contest/Critique Coordinator
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List