Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline June 5, 2015
Decision Date October 28, 2015
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

ACP and the Newspaper Association of America Foundation have co-sponsored the Newspaper Pacemaker competition since 1971. ACP began the awards in 1927.

Notable Winners


Indiana Daily Student, Indiana Univ., Bloomington, Ind.
Charles Scudder, Michael Auslen, editors
Ron Johnson/Ruth Witmer, advisers

The Daily Iowan, Univ. of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
Emily Busse, editor
Bill Casey/Jennifer Wagner, advisers

The Harvard Crimson, Harvard Univ., Cambridge, Mass.
Bobby Samuels, editor
Sebastian Garcia/Ben Samuels, advisers

The Daily Tar Heel, Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, N.C.
Andy Thomason, editor
Erica Perel, adviser

The Daily Collegian, Pennsylvania State Univ., State College, Pa.
Casey McDermott, editor
Jim Rodenbush, adviser


Judges select Pacemakers based on the following: coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership on the opinion page, evidence of in-depth reporting, design, photography, art and graphics.

Newspaper Pacemakers are judged in three categories: four-year dailies, four-year non-dailies and two-year papers. Pacemakers are selected by the staff of a professional newspaper or news organization. Finalists will be notified about one month before the fall convention.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Since 1927, the Pacemaker has been the highest honor ACP gives to its members. All ACP members are eligible to enter the Pacemaker competition, but must submit an entry. Non-members who enter will be billed for membership.

To find out if your publication is a current member, check the ACP database:

Entry Fee Details

There is no entry fee for this contest, but non-members who enter will be billed for membership

Required Material

An entry consists of five issues selected as follows:

Daily Papers (four or more issues/week)

  • 1 issue published Oct. 29-Nov. 12, 2014
  • 2 issues published Feb. 1-Feb. 28, 2015
  • 2 issues published July 1, 2014- June 1, 2015

Weekly papers (one to three issues/week)

  • 1 issue published Oct. 29-Nov. 9, 2014
  • 2 issues published Feb. 1-Feb. 28, 2015
  • 2 issues published July 1, 2014- June 1, 2015

Less frequently than weekly papers

  • 1 issue published Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2014
  • 2 consecutive issues published Feb. 1-March 31, 2015
  • 2 issues published July 1, 2014- June 1, 2015

Do not include special issues, e.g., orientation/ homecoming/finals week editions; these can be entered in the ACP Advertising Awards and Ad/Editorial Supplements.

Entry Format

1. Complete the entry form.

2. Send the form and your entry (see guidelines below) to ACP by the June 5, 2015 deadline. The entry must be received by this date.

3. ACP recommends sending your entry via a trackable shipping service, such as UPS or FedEx.

Contact Information

Trevor Ivan
Contest/Critique Coordinator
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List