Accepts entries starting November 1, 2014
Entry Deadline February 28, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date October 29, 2014
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

ACP is offering its highest honor, the Pacemaker award, to online college student publications. This competition replaces ACP's Best of the Net competition, which began in 1995 as the first nationwide competition for online college student publications.

Notable Winners

2013, Univ. of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.
Casey Lewandrowski, editor
Mark Woodhams, adviser

Calgary Journal Online, Mount Royal Univ., Calgary, Alberta
Supervising faculty: Sally Haney, editor
Terry Field/Shauna Snow-Capparelli, advisers

The Chimes, Biola Univ., La Mirada, Calif.
Elizabeth Sallie, editor
John Curtin, adviser

CU Independent, Univ. of Colorado, Boulder, Colo.
Isa Jones, editor
Gil Asakawa, adviser


Awards will be based on design, ease of navigation, writing and editing, graphics and interactivity. Sites will be judged by non-ACP staff members knowledgeable about design, journalism and interactive media.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

The online publication must be accessible via Internet Web browsers during the months of March and/or April, when the sites will be judged. The site must be produced and maintained primarily by students.

The National Pacemaker Awards are open only to ACP member publications. Non-members who enter will be billed for membership.

To find out if your publication is a current member, check the ACP database:

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

More information to come

Entry Format

More information to come.

Fill out the entry form to be eligible for this award.

Contact Information

Trevor Ivan
Contest/Critique Coordinator
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List