Accepts entries starting November 1, 2015
Entry Deadline January 15, 2016
Decision Date
Ceremony Date October 20, 2016
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Since 1927, ACP's Pacemaker competition has been considered by many to be student journalism's highest honor. All ACP yearbook members are eligible to compete for a Pacemaker, but must submit an entry.

Notable Winners


Razorback, Univ. of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.
Nick Carter, editor
Steve Wilkes, adviser

Tower, Loyola Marymount Univ., Los Angeles, Calif.
Sheree Shea, Gretchen Helpenstell, editors
Tom Nelson, adviser

Bruin Life, Univ. of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, Calif.
Jose Hernandez, editor
Aruli Ward, adviser


Yearbooks will be judged by professional non-ACP staff persons knowledgeable about design, journalism and yearbooks. Each judge will work independently, and the scores will be added to decide the final winners.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

The National Pacemaker Awards are open only to ACP member publications. Non-members who enter will be billed for membership.

To find out if your publication is a current member, check the ACP database:

Yearbooks published for the 2014-15 academic year 

Entry Fee Details

There is no entry fee for this contest, but non-members who enter will be billed for membership.

Required Material

Entry Format

1. Complete this entry form.

2. Send the form and one copy of your 2015 yearbook to ACP by the Jan. 15, 2016, deadline. We must receive the entry by this date.

3. Please send First Class U.S. Mail, UPS or other secure carrier. We do not recommend sending Media Mail or Book Rate.

4. You will receive a confirmation email once your entry has been received and processed.

Contact Information

Trevor Ivan
Contest/Critique Coordinator
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List