Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline February 1, 2014
Decision Date June 12, 2014
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Richard M. Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. The award is named after the Chief of Correspondents of the Time-Life Service (1960–1969) and architect of the Livingston Awards.

Notable Winners


Steven Brill was nominated by Jill Abramson, age 27, who was hired by Brill to work at The American Lawyer.


The national judges panel for the Livingston Awards includes some of the most accomplished journalists in the country. After reviewing all finalists’ entries, the national judges meet in person to discuss the work and to select the top three entries.

Christiane Amanpour, CBE
Global Affairs Anchor, ABC News
Chief International Correspondent, CNN, Host of CNN International's program "Amanpour"

Ken Auletta, Author;
Media and Communications Writer
The New Yorker

Dean Baquet, Executive Editor
The New York Times

Goodman Ellen Goodman, Author, Columnist, co-founder and director of The Conversation Project

John F. Harris Editor-in-Chief

Clarence Page
Columnist and Editorial Board Member
Chicago Tribune

Anna Quindlen Author

Kara Swisher CEO, Revere Digital
Co-Executive Editor, Re-Code

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Entries are eligible by nomination, and must serve in a mentoring role of some kind.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Nomination Form

Entry Format

To nominate an exceptional on-the-job mentor complete the Nomination Form and email it to us: [email protected]

Contact Information

Join the AMI Mailing List