Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline February 7, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards honor outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Robert Kennedy's concerns, including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world. Winning entries provide insights into the causes, conditions, and remedies of human rights violations and injustice, and critical analyses of relevant policies, programs, individual actions, and private endeavors that foster positive change. The RFK Journalism Awards are among the few in which winners are determined by their peers. Past winners include The Washington Post, National Public Radio, CBS's 60 Minutes, ABC's 20/20, and Home Box Office.

Notable Winners

Washington Post, National Public Radio, CBS's 60 Minutes, ABC's 20/20, and Home Box Office


Entries will be judged on a variety of criteria, including appropriateness of subject matter; quality of sources and depth of research; presentation; impact of the entry on the problem it highlights; and courage in reporting. Entrants must be able to authenticate their work.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Bust of Robert F Kennedy

Eligibility Requirements

Entries must have been first published or broadcast in the United States between January 1 and December 31, 2013.

Entries may be submitted either by individuals or news organizations.

Entries must have the following materials and be submitted online –no exceptions: Entry Form and Entry Fee

Entry Fee Details


Required Material

• Electronic portfolio of photo work
• Brief description of body of work and its impact
• There is no limit to how many photos may be included in a series.
• No single photo entries are allowed.

Entry Format

Please sign up for an RFK Center-Review Room account on the right-hand side. Please be aware that all entries to PROFESSIONAL categories must be accompanied with a non-refundable $75 entry fee. Book Award entrants will need to mail hard copies (6) of the submitted book to the RFK Center. For the purposes of standardizing our judging process, we will only accept submission in English.

Contact Information

Jae Regala
301-675-8171 [email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List