Accepts entries starting November 1, 2015
Entry Deadline February 10, 2016
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Charles E. Scripps Award for the Journalism & Mass Communication Teacher of the Year is
given in collaboration with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(AEJMC). Nominee must have consistently demonstrated an environment of excellence by
ongoing contributions to the improvement of student learning.

Notable Winners


Judges will consider the following seven criteria when evaluating nominees: innovative teaching practices, influences on curriculum, mentoring and advising students in matters of both career
and curriculum, mentoring faculty in regard to instruction, scholarship in respect to teaching,
leadership in educational activities in department, school, university and/or academy, and on-going industry engagement inside and outside the classroom

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

Full-time faculty member teaching in any of the disciplines of journalism and mass communication. Open to teachers from accredited and non-accredited schools.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

1. Unit heads must submit the nomination from his/her program. Only one nominee from each
unit is allowed. Selection process at each unit's discretion.
2. Nomination consists of a one- to two-page letter by the unit head that provides specific
examples of the nominee's merit based upon the seven criteria listed below, and a full curriculum vitae of the nominee.

Entry Format

Finalists notified: Notified BY:
Nov. 19, 2013

Finalist Entry Deadline:
Jan. 31, 2014

234 Outlet Pointe Blvd.; Suite A
Columbia, S.C. 29210-5667
FAX: 803-772-3509

Contact Information

Jennifer McGill, AEJMC,

Sue Porter, Scripps Howard Foundation, 513-977-3030 or 1-800-888-3000 ext. 3030

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List