Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline October 15, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

In 1987 the National Press Foundation received a generous bequest from the late Sol Taishoff, founder and editor of Broadcasting Magazine and a veteran of electronic journalism. The foundation created this prestigious award for distinguished service to broadcast journalism, whether during a lifetime of service or during an exceptional year’s work. The award is presented at the annual Awards Dinner.

Tips for Winning:

The Taishoff Award is given to an active broadcaster for a body of quality work in video or audio journalism. The award may recognize an individual's accomplishment in field reporting, producing, writing or work at the anchor desk.

Notable Winners

Wolf Blizter, CNN

Jorge Ramos, Univision News

Chris Wallace. Fox News


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Applicant or nominee should be an active broadcaster.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

A short biography should be saved as either a Word, text or PDF document BEFORE beginning the online application form. No JPGs. You may not save and return to the application later. If this item is not uploaded to the online application, it will be considered ineligible for review.

Entry Format

Entry Process is through an online form.

Applications are accepted for this award. However, the selection committee will choose a winner from both the applications received as well as internal nominations.

Contact Information

Jessica Jean-Francois [email protected] 202.663.7282

Join the AMI Mailing List