Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline July 31, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date November 10, 2014
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

Often described as sensible, eloquent, and witty, the collected works of the great Frédéric Bastiat demonstrate that simple, illustrative examples can make complicated concepts accessible to anyone. His understanding of economics and its fundamental relationship to the rule of law is de rigueur for anyone interested in property rights and free markets. And as Bastiat himself wrote, “The solution to the problems of human relationship is to be found in liberty.”

In the enduring spirit of Frédéric Bastiat’s brilliant work, the Bastiat Prize for Journalism is given to writers who educate readers by employing Bastiat’s simple, eloquent and witty explanations of complex economic ideas, combined with a clear understanding of markets and their underlying institutions.

Established in 2002 by the International Policy Network, the Bastiat Prize is now in it’s 13th year.

Notable Winners

First Place: Ross Clark of The Times and The Spectator
First Place: Lane Filler, Newsday
Third Place: Dhiraj Nayyar of India Today

First: Anne Jolis, The Wall Street Journal Europe
Second: John Robson, the Ottawa Sun
Third: Adrian Wooldridge, The Economist


The judges for the 2014 Bastiat Prize for Journalism will be announced shortly.

Monetary/Material Award Details

First Place: $10,000
Second Place: $5,000
Third Place: $1,000

Eligibility Requirements

Open to all publishing writers.

The following individuals and their immediate family (spouse, parents, siblings, and children), significant others, and household members are not eligible to enter the Bastiat Prize for Journalism: First Prize winners of the Bastiat Prize of Journalism from the past three years; Directors, staff, and regular columnists of Reason Foundation; current Judges of the Bastiat Prize.

Articles commissioned, edited and/or placed by Reason

Foundation are not eligible for the BPJ.
Articles published exclusively by Reason Foundation are not eligible for the BPJ.

Articles must have been published in English.

Articles must have been published for the first time between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014.
Entries must state clearly the name of the publication where each article appeared and the date each article was published.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

• Entries must comprise between one and three articles.

• Entries must not exceed 5,000 words in total.

• Entries must state clearly the name of the publication where each article appeared and the date each article was published.

• Consideration will be given to the articles on the following criteria: intellectual coherence; persuasiveness; wit and creativity; relevance; clarity and simplicity; wider impact.

Entry Format

• Entrants must submit their entries through the online entry form on Reason’s website.
• All articles entered for the BPJ must have been published in print or online (or both).
• Articles may comprise or include the transcript of a radio or television broadcast if that transcript has been published in print or online.
• In the case of a question about the legitimacy of an article, the author will be consulted and a final decision will be made by Reason Foundation.
• Authors must nominate themselves, although submissions may be made by an assistant on the author's behalf with his/her consent.
• If some or all articles are available to view online, entrants are encouraged to provide a URL for the articles.
• In all cases, an electronic copy of each article (in either .txt, .rtf, or .pdf format) must be uploaded through the submission form. If you encounter problems with the form, then these should be emailed to [email protected]
• Entries must be received on or before July 31, 2014.
• The finalists’ articles will be sent to the judges, a list of which will be made available on Reason’s website.
• The decision of the judges and Reason Foundation will be final.
• Finalists will be invited to a prize dinner in New York City on November 10, 2014. (While attendance is encouraged, it is not obligatory to receive the prize.)

Contact Information

Join the AMI Mailing List