Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The board of the National Society of Newspaper Columnists occasionally presents a Columnist of the Year Award for recent distinguished achievement.

Notable Winners

2002 โ€” Leonard Pitts Jr., for his work in The Miami Herald and syndicated, following the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks.
2003 โ€” Michael Kelly, a reporter, columnist and editor, who was killed in April 2003 while on assignment in Iraq for The Atlantic Monthly.
2004 โ€” Dorothy Brush, for her courageous battle against cancer, during which the NSNC member missed no deadlines at the Crossville (Tenn.) Chronicle โ€” โ€œdoing two columns each week, plus a few features, too,โ€ she said.
2011 โ€” W. Bruce Cameron, the longtime NSNC member for whom 2010 saw a major success, publication of his first novel, the best-selling A Dogโ€™s Purpose, while continuing his popular syndicated humor column.


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

No application process

Entry Format

no application process, but suggestions for future applicants are welcome. You may submit suggestion through the contact for, located below.

Contact Information

National Society of Newspaper Columnists
P.O. Box 411532
San Francisco, CA 94141
executive director: [email protected]
Phone: (415) 488-NSNC (6762)
FAX: (484) 297-0336

Join the AMI Mailing List