Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline January 30, 2015
Decision Date April 30, 2015
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The David Kaplan Award is offered among 21 other awards through the Overseas Press Club of America. It will be given for the best TV spot news reporting from abroad.

Notable Winners

Charlie D’Agata, Patricia Shevlin, Heather Abbott, Randall Joyce, Haithem Moussa, Alex Ortiz CBS Evening News Crackdown in Cairo


Head Judges have the discretion to move an entry to another award if they feel that the entry is submitted in an inappropriate category.

Monetary/Material Award Details

All award winners receive a certificate and a $1,000 check.


Eligibility Requirements

Annual awards for INTERNATIONAL COVERAGE in Newspapers, News Services, Websites, Magazines, Radio, Television, Cartoons, Books, and Photography. Work must be published or broadcast in the U.S. or by a U.S.-based company or be accessible to an American audience during 2014. All award applications will be entered online. Only categories with books will send a hard copy to the OPC office.

Entry Fee Details

Each entry is $200, and payable via PayPal, credit card or check made out to the Overseas Press Club of America. A corporate check coming from a different source must clearly indicate which entry it underwrites.

Required Material

Entry Format

Television: Include a link to your work making sure that it does not require a password to view.  The video may reside on any server, personal or corporate, or on a free service like where the video privacy settings are checked as “unlisted” so they are not available in a search query but are viewable to those with a link. Read more about uploading videos longer than 15 minutes on and where to update video privacy settings in Required specifications: .MP4 format, 1080p: 1920 × 1080 or 720p: 1280 × 720, HD, H.264 video codec, AAC audio codec, 384 kbps audio stereo stream

Once you have completed the form, you must continue to the checkout pages for your application to be submitted for judging. Do not begin to fill out this form until you have all of the information for the award(s) that you are applying for and are ready to select your method of payment.

Contact Information

Patricia Kranz

Executive Director of the Overseas Press Club of America

40 West 45 Street

New York, NY, 10036

tel: 212-626-9220

Join the AMI Mailing List