Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Eugene Katz Award For Excellence in the Coverage of Immigration was inaugurated in 1997 by the Center for Immigration Studies to promote informed and fair reporting on this contentious and complicated issue. The inspiration for the award is a native New Yorker who started his career, after Dartmouth and Oxford, as a reporter for the Daily Oklahoman. In 1928 he joined the family business, working as an advertising salesman for the Katz Agency, and in 1952 became the president of Katz Communications, a half-billion-dollar firm which not only dealt in radio and television advertising but also owned and managed a number of radio stations.

Mr. Katz was also a member of Center for Immigration Studies board until shortly after his 90th birthday in 1997. The Center benefited greatly from his wise counsel, and the board and staff developed an affection for him that went well beyond business matters. Mr. Katz passed away in March 2000 at the age of 93.

Notable Winners

2014: Bonnie Erbé, host of “To the Contrary”, PBS
2013: Bob Segall, WTHR Indianapolis
2012: Sarah Ryley, The Daily
2011: Leo Banks, Tucson Weekly


Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

Contact Information

Center for Immigration Studies
1629 K Street N.W., Suite 600
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 466-8185
Fax: (202) 466-8076

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List