Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline November 29, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date March 17, 2016
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques – that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future.

Notable Winners


Espen Sandli, Linn Kongsli Hillestad and Ola Strømman, “Null CTRL”, published by Dagbladet, Norway. You can visit the entry here or read about the project in English.


Sir Harold Evans is one of Britain’s most famous and feted editors.

Sylvie Kaufmann is editorial director of the French newspaper Le Monde, of which she was editor in chief in 2010-2011.

Juan Luis Cebrián is the founding editor of El Pais in Madrid and CEO of the Prisa media groep

Yevgenia Albats was the first Soviet journalist to investigate the Soviet political police, the KGB in the Soviet-era.

Jørgen Ejbøl started his career in journalism with the Aalborg Stiftstidende newspaper

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

Any of the 47 countries which make up the Council of Europe are fine – though this isn’t a Council of Europe contest, or an EU one. We’ve just taken the widest possible practical definition of Europe.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

After the Preparatory Committee makes the first preliminary shortlist, journalists will be contacted to enter samples and evidence of the entered work. Examples are:

• A specimen from the printed or published version
• Photos of published articles
• A hard copy of a printed web-page
• Further explanation of effect and role (500 words) in English
• Independent testimonial assessing the impact and importance in English
• A signed letter of support from an editor, publisher or assessor in the country of origin

Entry Format

All printed material (when requested) should be send by post to the Bureau of the European Press Prize:

European Press Prize
Olympisch Stadion 39
1076 DE Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Contact Information

Thomas van Neerbos (Chief of Bureau of the European Press Prize Foundation)

Email: [email protected]

Also, [email protected]

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List