Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline April 5, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The John Chancellor Award, founded in 1995, is presented each year to a reporter with courage and integrity for cumulative professional accomplishments. The prize honors the legacy of pioneering television correspondent and longtime NBC News anchor John Chancellor.

Journalists must first be nominated. The Chancellor Board looks for sustained journalistic accomplishments over time, where the journalist’s reporting as a whole is greater than any single story he or she may have covered. Please explain the impact of the reporting

Notable Winners

• 2013: Robert Siegel, NPR
• 2012: Maria Hinojosa, news anchor and reporter for PBS, NPR, and CNN
• 2011: David Evens, The Bloomberg Markets magazine


• Mary Chancellor: Chancellor Family
• Nicholas Lemann: Henry R. Luce Professor at
Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
• Ira A. Lipman: Founder John Chancellor Award and Founder & Chairman of Guardsmark, LLC
• Dori Maynard: President of Robert C. Maynard Institute
• Michele Norris: Host, "All Things Considered" National Public Radio
• Lynn Sherr: former Correspondent ABC News
• Hank Klibanoff: James M. Cox Jr. Professor of Journalism Emory University
• Bill Wheatley: former Executive Vice President with NBC News

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

Journalists must be nominated

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Paperless Electronic Submissions Preferred

For print nominations: a pdf file with legible pages of the nomination material, or five hard copies.

For broadcast nominations: a list of working permanent links to programming is recommended.

A nominating letter by someone other than the journalist that includes a brief summary of journalistic accomplishments.

• Nominations may have up to three letters of support.**

• Resumé or CV, including any major awards received.

• Provide 5-10 examples of the person's best work:

• Newspaper/Magazine Nominee: 5-10 significant newspaper or magazine stories by the nominee. (Please include articles in the original layout, if possible. Photocopies or PDFs must be easy to read.)

• Broadcast/TV or Radio Nominee: 5-10 significant broadcast stories by the nominee. TV and radio stories should be submitted just as they aired, without reediting. Contact the Chancellor Award office for coverage of breaking news stories, if applicable. (Links to the stories or five copies on DVD for television or CD for radio.)

• Web reports may be saved as pdf's and submitted on disk or DVD, or you may provide us with a live link.

• Paperless submissions preferred (of resumé/CV and work samples) via Dropbox or Yoursendit. You can also email these materials as attachments to [email protected]

• This award is intended for a journalist whose principal audience is in the U.S. If the original reporting is in a language other than English, transcripts or subtitles in English must be provided.

**Letters of Nomination and support can be emailed to [email protected] or mailed.

Entry Format

To be entered for consideration, journalists must be nominated:

Download and complete a nomination form by clicking on the entry link.

Once the form is completed, please scan and email it to: [email protected] OR print and mail it with the required supporting materials to:

John Chancellor Award
Attn: Abi Wright
Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway, MC 3801
New York, NY 10027

Contact Information

John Chancellor Award
Abi Wright, Director
2950 Broadway MC3805
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 212-854-5047
Fax: 212-854-3148
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List