Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline March 15, 2014
Decision Date
Ceremony Date June 3, 2014
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The MOLLY Prize is awarded for an article or series of up to four related articles or columns telling the stories that need telling, challenging conventional wisdom, focusing on civil liberties and/or social justice, and embodying the intelligence, deep thinking and/or passionate wit that marked Molly’s work.

Notable Winners

2013: Sarah Stillman, The New Yorker
2012: Trevor Aaronson, Mother Jones
2011: Jeff Sharlet, Harper’s Magazine
2010: A.C. Thompson, ProPublica
2009: Rick Casey, The Houston Chronicle
2008: Diane Suchetka, The Cleveland Plain Dealer


All entries will be judged on the basis of a single piece, a series or columns. Judges will value work that reflects Molly’s ability to look critically at the issues of the day with compassion and/or humor, tells the stories that need telling, challenges conventional wisdom, and focuses upon civil liberties or social justice.

Initial screening for the entries will be conducted by journalists from the Board of Advisors, which governs the conducting of the award. Finalists and winners will be determined by an annually selected Executive Committee of the Board of Advisors.

Hugh Aynesworth, Maurine H. Beasley, Tom Bettag, Mike Blackman, Frederick Blevens, Roy Blount, Jr., Mary Breasted, Robert Bryce, Ken Bunting, Wanda Cash, Carlton Carl, Mike Cochran, Gail Collins, Patrick Cox, Greg Curtis, Joe Cutbirth, Lou Dubose, Ronnie Dugger, Margaret Engel, James Fallows, Doug Foster, Ellen Goodman, Wade Goodwyn, Patti Kilday Hart, Jim Henderson, Steven Isenberg, Melissa Jones, Lewis Lapham, Myra MacPherson, David McHam, Dave McNeely, Kevin Merida, Judith Davidson Moyers, Victor Navasky, Kaye Northcott, Larry Norwood, Karen Olsson, John Pope, Dan Rather, Matt Rothschild, Ben Sargent, Connie Schultz, Robert Siegel, Erna Smith, Glenn Smith, Paul Stekler, Carlton Stowers, Diane Suchetka, Ellen Sweets, Mimi Swartz, Saralee Tiede, Rusty Todd, Calvin Trillin, Jim Willse and John Young.

Monetary/Material Award Details

Award: $5,000

Honorable Mentions: $1,000

Eligibility Requirements

Submissions must consist of material originally published in a U.S.-based publication in print or as part of an online magazine (NOTE: This does not include unedited blogs) between January 1, 2013, and December 31, 2013. One entry per individual will be accepted. Individual writers may enter on their own or be entered by the publication in which the work appeared. Multiple by-lines for a single entry are acceptable. NOTE: Work that has appeared in The Texas Observer is ineligible in order to avoid any appearance of conflict of interest.

Entry Fee Details

Entry fee is $50 and should be paid by check or money order when submitting the hard copy of the entry.

Required Material

Both electronic and hard copies of stories are required (unless the method of publication makes one or the other version impossible, in which case that should be clearly stated in the submission).

A cover sheet for each entry must give the following information: author’s name, mailing address, telephone number(s), e-mail address, and a brief biography; publication name, editorial contact person, mailing address, telephone number(s), and e-mail address; and publication date.

Entry Format

• If submitting photocopies of published work, 8 1/2 ” x 11″ pages are preferred. If that requires great reduction of the print (as for a broadsheet), please provide a readable version of the story on 8 1/2 ” x 11″ pages with an additional photocopy of the story laid out in the publication.

• Award finalists may be required to submit tear sheets of the original work. If you are sending entire publication, please identify pages of the entry using page flags.

• One hard copy of each entry should be mailed to: The Texas Observer, Attn: The MOLLY Prize, 307 W. 7th St, Austin, TX 78701.

• One electronic copy of each entry should be e-mailed to: [email protected]

Contact Information

[email protected]

Entry Links

Entry URL
Further Information
Join the AMI Mailing List