Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline March 9, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award was established at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism in 1959—during the heart of the civil rights movement—to honor Paul Tobenkin, The New York Herald Tribune reporter’s work and to recognize outstanding achievements in reporting on racial or religious hatred, intolerance or discrimination in the United States.

Notable Winners

2013: Nikole Hannah-Jones was named the 2013 Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award for her 13-part web series, "Living Apart: Fair Housing in America."

2012: Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Chris Hawley, and Eileen Sullivan of The Associated Press, for their months-long series outlining the NYPD’s surveillance of minority and particularly Muslim neighborhoods since the 9/11 terror attacks.


2013 Judges:
Columbia Journalism School professors June Cross, Elena Cabral and Barbara Kantrowitz

Monetary/Material Award Details

Eligibility Requirements

All entries must have been published during 2014, though in the case of a series or ongoing story, work that appeared in January 2015 will be accepted.

Entry Fee Details


Required Material

The name of the photographer or graphic artist should be included on all entry forms for
visual elements.

• Brief letter from the editor indicating the scope of the reporter's work, including links to any websites created for the project.

• Brief biography of the reporter.

• Published stories may take the form of a single project, a portfolio of the reporter’s best work or a series.

• Two copies of each CD for multimedia presentations.

Entry Format

Submission is online.
ALL materials should be formatted and uploaded as PDFs. Supporting multimedia presentations can be sent on a CD or as URLs. Links must remain live.

Contact Information

Lisa S. Redd, Associate Director, Tobenkin Award
Columbia University Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027
[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List