Accepts entries starting January 1, 2015
Entry Deadline July 31, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

CASW established the Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting in 2000. The prize, which is given annually, seeks to honor a writer for a body of work published or broadcast within the last five years which, for reasons of uncommon clarity, accuracy, breadth of coverage, enterprise, originality, insight and narrative power, has made a profound and lasting contribution to public awareness and understanding of critical advances in medical science and their impact on human health and well-being. Eligible writing includes work appearing in digital media.

Notable Winners


Monetary/Material Award Details

The honoree receives an award of $3,000 and a framed certificate. The prize is presented at a joint awards ceremony held in conjunction with ScienceWriters, a conference that combines CASW's New Horizons in Science briefings and the National Association of Science Writer's Annual Workshops. Awardee travel expenses to the award ceremony are covered.

Eligibility Requirements

Editors, colleagues, scientists and others familiar with the candidate's body of work may proffer nominations. Individuals may nominate themselves, but are encouraged to submit at least one letter of support from a knowledgeable colleague. Nominators of candidates for the 2015 Prize may submit up to five examples of the candidate's journalistic endeavors, all published or aired since January 2010. Books are not eligible. Letters of nomination should include an assessment of the nominee's body of work along with a biographical sketch.

The nomination period for 2014 has closed. Nominations for 2015 may be submitted beginning January 1, 2015. The next deadline for submission is JULY 31, 2015.

Entry Fee Details

Required Material

Entry Format

Nominators and candidates may submit materials at Letters of support may be uploaded either as part of the nomination package or via a separate submission form provided for recommenders.

Contact Information

Diane McGurgan


[email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List