Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline April 1, 2014
Decision Date May 1, 2014
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Will Rogers Humanitarian Award is presented annually by the National Society of Newspaper Columnists to a writer whose work has positively affected readers’ lives and produced tangible humanitarian benefits.

Notable Winners

2014 — Washington, D.C. — Michael Paul Williams

2013 — Hartford, Conn. — Mike Morin


Monetary/Material Award Details

The award carries no monetary
prize, but a $500 stipend is given to help defray the cost of attendance at the annual NSNC conference.

Eligibility Requirements

Any salaried, staff, syndicated or regularly published newspaper columnist, investigative reporter or feature writer
who is not a previous winner is eligible for the award.

Entry Fee Details


Required Material

• Entries will consist of the following:
- A description, in 250 words or less, of the work done by the nominee to merit the award.
- A statement of supporting reasons for the nomination.
- Representative examples of the writings on which the nomination is based. Be selective. These must be in the
form of newspaper clips or quality photocopies. No computer printouts, please.
* Entry pages shall be no larger than 8 ½” by 11”. Please do not use fancy, hard back binders. Staple the
pages inside a letter size manila file folder, with the nominee’s name and newspaper on front, and the words, “Will
Rogers Humanitarian Award Nomination.”
* Entries will not be returned. Nominating materials may be reprinted in the NSNC newsletter, on the NSNC Web
site, or in a special NSNC publication.

Entry Format

Submit entries to: NSNC, P.O. Box 1582, Madison, VA 22727.
Entries must be postmarked by April 1, 2014

• Nominations may be based on a body of work but the nominee must have written material that appeared in a daily
or weekly newspaper in the U.S. or Canada during 2013 which related to his or her humanitarian activities.
* Nominations may be submitted by a newspaper editor, managing editor, executive editor, publisher or community
leader and must be signed. A community leader’s nomination must include a letter of support from the
entrant’s newspaper. Writers may not nominate themselves.
* There is no limit on how many columnists from the same newspaper may be nominated, but each nomination
requires a separate entry.
* The winner will be notified by May 1, 2014. The award will be presented at the annual NSNC Conference. The
winner is expected to attend.

Contact Information

Robert Haught at [email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List