Accepts entries starting
Entry Deadline January 23, 2015
Decision Date
Ceremony Date
Entry Fee (See Details)
Monetary or Material Award (See Details)

About the Award

The Worth Bingham Prize honors investigative reporting of stories of national significance where the public interest is being ill-served.

These stories may involve state, local or national government, lobbyists or the press itself wherever there exists an "atmosphere of easy tolerance" that Worth Bingham himself once described in his reporting on the nation's capital.

The investigative reporting may cover actual violations of the law, rule or code; lax or ineffective administration or enforcement; or activities which create conflicts of interest, entail excessive secrecy or otherwise raise questions of propriety.

Judges will be guided by such factors as obstacles overcome in getting information, accuracy, clarity of analysis and writing style, magnitude of the situation, and impact on the public, including any reforms that may have resulted.

The $20,000 prize for reporting in 2014 will be presented at the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard in Cambridge, Mass., in April 2015.

(Please note that the application period for the 2014 Worth Bingham Prize has ended. Entries for work done in the current calendar year will be accepted starting in the fall of 2014.)

Notable Winners

Cynthia Hubert and Phillip Reese and colleagues
The Sacramento Bee
"Nevada Patient Busing"

Sam Dolnick
The New York Times
“Unlocked: Inside New Jersey’s Halfway Houses”

Michael Finnegan, Gale Holland and colleagues
Los Angeles Times
“Billions to Spend”


The judges' selection of the winner will be final and not subject to review by the Board of Trustees of the Fund.

Monetary/Material Award Details


Eligibility Requirements

The date appearing on the newspaper or magazine will determine the entry's eligibility in the contest year.

Entry Fee Details


Required Material

• Entries may include a single story, a related series of stories, or up to three unrelated stories. Columns and editorials are eligible. Individuals are encouraged to submit their own entries.
• In case of a series, at least half the individual stories must have been published during the contest year (2014).
• All entries must be accompanied by a $50 entry fee, payable online

Entry Format

• All Bingham Prize entries must be submitted electronically using our online application form.
• All submissions must have been published in a U.S. newspaper or magazine or on the newspaper or magazine’s website during the 2014 calendar year. Web-based news organizations that follow a strict code of journalistic ethics and publish original reporting on a regular basis may also submit entries. No broadcast-only entries are allowed.

Contact Information

Ellen Tuttle
617-495-2342 [email protected]

Join the AMI Mailing List